scholarship_donationsThe Black Alumni Society would like to thank you for your donations during the 2009 BAS Reunion. Your donations will allow BAS to continue to enhance diversity and retention at the University and to provide financial assistance for students.

Dr. Bobby Jones and Corine Ackerson-Jones announces the following recipient, LaKendra B. Spates of Helena-West Helena, Arkansas, as the recipient of the Sammie Perry-Earnestine Jones Perseverance Scholarship in the amount of $2,500. Spates is a kinesiology pre-professional major. She is a candidate for a Bachelor of Science in Education in 2010 and an African American Studies minor. The Joneses have awarded $10,000 in scholarships since 2005.

Reggie and Willie Mae Murdock announce the following recipient, Kai Perry of Helena-West Helena Arkansas, as the recipient of the Reginald Kevin Murdock Jr. Academic Support Award. The scholarship is in memory of the Murdocks’ 16-year-old-son Reginald who passed away on December 1, 2008.

Perry is a freshman majoring in political science. The scholarship is a one-time award of $1,000. The Murdocks will award a $1,000 non renewable scholarship each year.

T.A., Vivian and Sheila Walton Legacy Scholarship is a book scholarship awarded to children whose parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles have graduated from the University of Arkansas. The scholarship is a one-time award of $500 to incoming freshmen. The following recipients will receive the scholarships:

  • Ethan Alexander Hayne, St. Louis, Missouri
  • Terrence Boyd, Pine Bluff, Arkansas
  • Mersaides Means, Fayetteville, Arkansas
  • Brittany C. Rodgers, Jacksonville, Arkansas
  • Lauren Weems, Little Rock, Arkansas

The Waltons have awarded more than $10,000 in legacy book scholarships.

BAS Scholarship Challenge is funded from contributions by alumni given at the bi-annual reunion or throughout the year. The 2009 BAS Reunion contributions were $5,819. The funds are utilized to assist a freshman, upper class person, graduate and/or law students needing financial assistance. This year the recipient is Sarenthia McClelland, a junior from El Dorado, Arkansas. She is a chemistry/premed major.

If you would like for your name listed as a BAS Challenge donor please e-mail Angela Mosley Monts at There are no small donations.

BAS Reunion Scholarship recipients will receive a one-time scholarship in the amount of $1,000:

  • Brandon Dismute, Sherwood, AR
  • Anthony Williams, Waldo, AR
  • Tia Woods, Little Rock, AR
  • Danisha Cardwell, West Memphis, AR

BAS Challenge Donors

Helen Ontario Alexander
Emanuel Banks
Marco Javon Barker
Cass Beanum
Shirley Fletcher Bonden
Fred Bonner
Ritche Manley Bowden
Dalesia Boyd
J.D. and Carolyn Bradford
Ron and Carolyn Brewer
Keith M. Britton
Shuanta Anita Broadway
Donna P. Brown
Kelly Bryant
Tjuana Cynese Byrd
Margaret Turner Carrigan
Natalie Hill Coleman
Willyerd and Marta Collier
Ramona Collins
Shallon R. Cummings
Tommie Flowers Davis
Jimmy Dismuke
Benetta Helene Duhart
Maurita Jennings Everett
Dinah Gail Gant
Edward J. Garland
Dorcedar L. Glover
Patriece N. Gray
Myrtle Hampton Griffin
Michael D. Harris
Muskie Harris
Shaundra Harris
Donnald Hatchett
Johnathan Delmar Henry
Linda Joyce Hinton
Erica Holliday
Latonia J. Johnson
Latonia Johnson
Monica Marquita Jones
Gerald and Elizabeth Jordan
Janis F. Kearney
Janis F. Kearney
Bridgitti R.  Knox
Denna Shantee Lambert
Darron Ray  Lockhart
Anthony Wayne Lucas
Anthony Wayne Lucas
Karres Demetrice Manning
Marilyn K. McElroy
Ray E. McKissic
Gail D. Tucker Monk
Gary Bernard Moses
Mary  Parker
Ericka J. Pulphus
Katina Revels
Lott and Terry Rolfe, IV
Terry L.  See
Milton A.  Shannon
Oliver L. Sims, III
Carla Parish Ward
Oscar Washington
Patsy G. Watkins
Ben and Carrol Perkins Williams
Cedric Williams
Keithan Alan Williams
Monica Nicole Williams
Naccaman and Angela  Williams
Torree M. Williams
Trina Williams
LaDonna Willingham
Angela L. Wilson

Update (August 12, 2009):
Byron Galloway
Fred Leonard
Victor Green